CAS Society Awards 2015

IEEE CAS is pleased to congratulate the following recipients of the 2015 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Awards. The Society is especially proud and happy to honor their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward their continuous involvement and close contact with CAS.

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Georges G.E. Gielen
For leadership in the design, analysis, optimization and design automation of analog and mixed signal circuits and systems.

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
Massoud Pedram
For contributions to modeling and design of low power VLSI circuits and systems, and energy efficient computing.

John Choma Education Award
Sung-Mo (Steve) Kang
For contributions to education and leadership in digital integrated circuits and computer aided design.

Vitold Belevitch Circuits and Systems Award
Yuval Bistritz
For innovative and improved variants of classical algorithms for stability testing and signal processing and for a major contribution to the stability theory of multidimensional systems.

Meritorious Service Award
Ricardo Reis
For contributions to CAS Society leadership and for initiating many CASS activities in Region 9.

Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Shahar Kvatinsky, Eby G. Friedman, Avinoam Kolodny, Uri C. Weiser
“TEAM – ThrEshold Adaptive Memristor Model,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 60, no. 1, pp. 211-221, January 2013

Darlington Best Paper Award

Chengwu Tao, Ayman Fayed

“A Low-Noise PFM-Controlled Buck Converter for Low-Power Applications,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 59, no. 12, pp. 3071-3080, December 2012

Biomedical Circuits and Systems Best Paper Award
A.M.R. Dixon, E.G. Allstot, D. Gangopadhyay, D.J. Allstot
“Compressed Sensing System Considerations for ECG and EMG Wireless Bio-Sensors,” IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems, vol. 6, no. 2, pp. 156-166, April 2012

Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award
Jaydeep P. Kulkarni, Kaushik Roy
“Ultralow-Voltage Process-Variation-Tolerant Schmitt-Trigger-Based SRAM Design,” IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems, vol. 20, no. 2, pp. 319-332, February 2012

Pre-Doctoral Scholarships
Lorenzo Bisoni
Hugo Cruz

Chapter of the Year Award
Chapter Chair, Wenwu Zhu

Region 1-7 Chapter of the Year
Chapter Chair, M. O. Ahmad

Region 9 Chapter of the Year
Chapter Chair, Carlos Silva-Cardenas

Region 10 Chapter of the Year
Chapter Chair, Nurul Amziah Md Yunus

The following awards were not given in 2015:
Industrial Pioneer Award
Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award
Outstanding Young Author Award
Student Best Paper
Region 8 Chapter of the Year