IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Newsletter | Volume 14 | Issue 6 | December 2020 | CURRENT/PAST ISSUES



The CAS Society is delighted to learn of the election of the following 14 CAS members to the Fellow grade of IEEE, effective January 1, 2021. The Fellow grade is the highest membership grade that an IEEE member can attain by nomination. CONGRATULATIONS to all new CAS Fellows!

New CAS Fellows Elevated by CAS Society:

  • Jianfei Cai, Melbourne, Australia
    for contributions to spatio-temporal data mining and urban computing
  • Francis C M Lau, Hong Kong
    for contributions to analysis of chaotic communications systems and low-density parity-check code design
  • Houqiang Li, Hefei, China
    for contributions to video coding and multimedia content analysis
  • Jun Ohta, Ikomo, Japan
    for contributions to CMOS image sensors and devices for biomedical applications
  • Guangming Shi, Xi’an, China
    for contributions to image representation and image reconstruction
  • Meng Wang, Hefei, China
    for contributions to multimedia content analysis and retrieval
  • Junsong Yuan, Buffalo, NY, USA
    for contributions to human behavior understanding and video analytics

New CAS Fellows Elevated by Other Societies:

  • Danijela Cabric, Los Angeles, CA, USAfor contributions to theory and practice of spectrum sensing and cognitive radio systems
  • Huadong Ma, Beijing, China
    for contributions to multimedia sensor networks
  • Saurabh Sinha, South Africa
    for leading micro/nanoelectronics research and education in Africa
  • Xiaoping Zhang, Toronto, Canada
    for contributions to signal processing in finance
  • Ahmed Ali, Greensboro, NC, USA
    for leadership in high-speed analog-to-digital converter design and calibration
  • Benton Calhoun, Charlottesville, VA, USA
    for contributions to sub-threshold integrated circuits and selfpowered systems
  • Yung-Hsiang Lu, West Lafayette, IN, USA
    for contributions to energy efficiency of computer systems

CAS Society Awards 2020

IEEE CAS is pleased to congratulate the following recipients of the 2020 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Awards. The Society is especially proud and happy to honor their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward their continuous involvement and close contact with CAS. 

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Joos Vandewalle

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
Georges Gielen

Industrial Pioneer Award
Shaojun Wei

Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Yanling Wei, Jianbin Qiu, and Hamid Reza Karimi
"Reliable Output Feedback Control of Discrete-Time Fuzzy Affine Systems With Actuator Faults,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 64, no. 1, pp. 170-181, Jan. 2017.

Darlington Best Paper Award
Francesco Conti, Robert Schilling, Pasquale Davide Schiavone, Antoni Pullini, Davide Rossi, Frank Kağan Gürkaynak, Michael Muehlberghuber, Michael Gautschi, Igor Loi, Germain Haugou, Stefan Mangard, and Luca Benini
“An IoT Endpoint System-on-Chip for Secure and Energy-Efficient Near-Sensor Analytics,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 64, no. 9, pp. 248-2494, Sept. 2017.

Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award 
Rufael Mekuria, Kees Blom, and Pablo Cesar
“Design, Implementation, and Evaluation of a Point Cloud Codec for Tele-Immersive Video,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 27, no. 4, pp. 828-842, Apr. 2017.

Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award
Michael Gautschi, Pasquale Davide Schiavone, Andreas Traber, Igor Loi, Antonio Pullini, Davide Rossi, Eric Flammand, Frank K. Gürkaynak, and Luca Benini
“Near-Threshold RISC-V Core With DSP Extensions for Scalable IoT Endpoint Devices,” IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems, vol. 25, no. 10, pp. 2700-2713, Oct. 2017.

Outstanding Young Author Award
Kai Kang, et. al.
“T-CNN: Tubelets With Convolutional Neural Networks for Object Detection From Videos,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 28, no. 10, pp. 2896-2907, Oct. 2018.

Pre-Doctoral Scholarships
Corey Lammie
Yifei Shen

Chapter of the Year Award
Japan Joint Chapter

Region 1-7 Chapter of the Year
North Jersey Chapter

The following awards were not given in 2020:

John Choma Education Award
Vitold Belevitch Award
Meritorious Service Award
Region 8 Chapter of the Year
Region 9 Chapter of the Year
Region 10 Chapter of the Year