ISSCS 2017, Iasi, Romania

The 13th edition of the International Symposium on Signals, Circuits and Systems (ISSCS 2017), organized by the Faculty of Electronics, Telecommunications and Information Technology of the “Gheorghe Asachi” Technical University of Iasi, the IEEE Romanian Chapter of Circuits and Systems, and IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, was held at Iasi, Romania on July 13-14, 2017 (Figure 1). Since 1993, this biennial conference aims at facilitating researchers from academia and industry to meet and present their latest results in a nice and friendly environment.  In this year’s conference 94 papers by authors from 18 countries were selected and presented. A major characteristic of ISSCS editions including this one was the presence of well-known scientists who presented plenary talks. Thus, Ph.D. students and young researchers from Romania and from abroad had the opportunity to listen to highly inspiring presentations. The four plenary speakers were Professor Mau-Chung Frank Chang of the National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, Bob Adams of Analog Devices, U.S.A., Professor Anil K. Jain of the Michigan State University, U.S.A., and Professor Alex Chichung Kot of the  Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

At the suggestion of Professor Franco Maloberti, President of IEEE Circuits & Systems Society, free half-year CAS membership for IEEE student members was offered (Figure 2).

The opening session took place in the Aula of the “Gheorghe Asachi” Technical University of Iasi (Figures 3 and 4) and was chaired by Professor Dan Cascaval, Rector of the Technical University, Iasi.

The welcome reception was held in the beautiful library (Figure 5) of the “Gheorghe Asachi” Technical University, and last but not least, some of the participants joined on Saturday 15th July a trip to the Northern part of Romania and visited several famous monasteries (Figure 6). 

For the next edition to be held in 2019, we intend to attract more researchers form industry and to encourage cooperation with universities.

Liviu Goras and Sanjit Mitra, General Co-chairs, ISSCS 2017
Majid Ahmadi, Technical Chair, ISSCS 2017

© IEEE CAS Society 2017