IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Newsletter | Volume 13 | Issue 4 | August 2019 | CURRENT/PAST ISSUES


Leon Chua honored as Celebrated Member by IEEE Electron Devices Society  

To honor and recognize esteemed Electron Devices Society (EDS) alumni, the EDS Celebrated Member Program has been instituted by EDS, and in 2019 this prestigious honor was bestowed upon Prof. Leon Chua of UC Berkeley, a Life CAS Fellow, for his enormous contributions to advancement of electon devices research. 

Leon Chua is widely known for his invention of the Memristor and the Chua’s Circuit. His research has been recognized internationally through numerous major awards, including 17 honorary doctorates from major universities in Europe and Japan, and 7 USA patents. He was elected as Fellow of IEEE in 1974, a foreign member of the European Academy of Sciences (Academia Europea) in 1997, a foreign member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 2007, and an honorary fellow of the Institute of Advanced Study at the Technical University of Munich, Germany in 2012. He was honored with many major prizes, including the Frederick Emmons Award in 1974, the IEEE Neural Networks Pioneer Award in 2000, the first IEEE Gustav Kirchhoff Award in 2005, the International Francqui Chair (Belgium) in 2006, the Guggenheim Fellow award in 2010, Leverhulme Professor Award (United Kingdom) during 2010-2011, and the EU Marie curie Fellow award, 2013. Prof. Chua is widely cited for the 12 hugely popular lectures he presented at the hp Chua Lecture Series, entitled “From Memristors and Cellular Nonlinear Networks to the Edge of Chaos”, during the fall of 2015, and now accessible through YouTube via the link, :


CAS Society Awards 2019

The CAS Society is pleased to announce the receipients of the 2019 CAS Awards as follows:

Mac Van Valkenburg Award 
Prof. Ángel Rodríguez-Vázquez

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award 
Vivek K. De

John Choma Education Award
John Maxwell Cohn

Vitold Belevitch Award
Not awarded

Industrial Pioneer Award
Ulrich L. Rohde

Meritorious Service Award
David Allstot

Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Not awarded

Darlington Award
Not awarded

BioCAS Transactions Best Paper Award
Fabio Pareschi, Pierluigi Albertini, Giovanni Frattini, Mauro Mangia, Riccardo Rovatti, and Gianluca Setti, "Hardware-Algorithms Co-Design and Implementation of an Analog-to-Information Converter for Biosignals Based on Compressed Sensing,” IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems, Volume 10, Issue 1, Feb. 2016.

CAS for Video Technologies Transactions Best Paper AwardHan Hu, Yonggang Wen, Tat-Seng Chua, Jian Huang, Wenwu Zhu, Xuelong Li, "Joint Content Replication and Request Routing for Social Video Distribution Over Cloud CDN: A Community Clustering Method,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, Volume: 26, Issue: 7, July 2016.

VLSI Transactions Best Paper Award
Jason Kamran Eshraghian, Jr., Kyoungrok Cho, Ciyan Zheng, Minho Nam, Herbert Ho-Ching Iu, Wen Lei, and Kamran Eshraghian, "Neuromorphic Vision Hybrid RRAM-CMOS Architecture.” IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems, Volume 26, Issue 12, Dec. 2018.

Outstanding Young Author Award
Abhronil Sengupta, et al., “Proposal for an All-Spin Artificial Neural Network: Emulating Neural and Synaptic Functionalities Through Domain Wall Motion in Ferromagnets,” IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems, Volume 10, Issue 6, Dec. 2016.

Pre-Doctoral Scholarship
Oiga Krestinskaya

Chapter of the Year Award

Regions 1-7 Chapter of the Year Award
Santa Clara Valley Chapter

Region 8 Chapter of the Year Award

Region 10 Chapter of the Year Award